He’s got skills…15 Weeks!

 

Ben is another week older!  He’s got the skills to not only grasp his pacifier and pull it out of his mouth, but he can put it back in his mouth now too!  Click here for the cute video clip.  This clip will also show why he has earned the nickname Superman!  He was so much fun this day!  He was laying on a quilt that Grandma Hamilton gave to him and he loved it!  He loves looking at the bright colors when he is on his tummy too!  I was trying to change him one day and went to pull his arm out of one of his sleeves and with my help he just rolled on over.  It was a great surprise!!  He is also more intentional when batting at toys hanging from the Baby Einstein play mat.  I can really tell his hand eye coordination is beginning to improve.  It is cool to see how alert and aware of his surroundings he seems to be too.  For example, when the star on the Baby Einstein mat changes tunes he will pause for a moment and look at the star and then start playing again.  Also, when Jake calls home from work and I put it on speakerphone Ben will stop what he is doing and look at the phone.  I know I say it all the time, but I truly am amazed at how much he changes from week to week.  Just this morning one of the mommies at playgroup commented on how she can see changes in him each week too!    

Oh yes, playgroup!  We joined a group of mommies (there are 6 of us) from the neighborhood and every Wednesday morning for a couple of hours we get together to let our kiddos play.  The group is for kids one year and younger.  Ben is the youngest and it has only been within the last two weeks that he hasn’t slept through playgroup!!  There are 3 boys and 3 girls that make up the group.  A few of the kids are just now crawling and two of them are walking.  It is so much fun to watch them interact with each other.  There can be tons of toys all around them, but usually they want to play with the same toy or share sippy cups!  Ben also gets lots of attention from the little girls.  They all want to stand around his bouncer and poke his eyes out.  Not kidding, I have to watch him like a hawk.  I know they just want to show him love and for whatever reason little girls must think sticking fingers in a boy’s eye is the way to his heart!  I hosted at my house this week.  Let me just say that I am so thankful I mopped the floors and vacuumed yesterday!  Our dog, Dakota, sheds like crazy and these kids were all over the place!!  Dakota is always a big hit with kids.  They each wanted to take turns going to visit him outside.  He loved it!  I really like this group.  Since I am the newest mommy they are all very helpful by sharing their advice and experience with me!  I’ll have to take some pictures soon of the group and get them posted for you all to see!

 

4 Comments

Filed under Ben, Orlando

4 responses to “He’s got skills…15 Weeks!

  1. That is one beautiful boy, you guys have. I love that picture that you have of him looking up at you. Melts my heart! And I love that you got video of him getting the paci back in his mouth – great stuff! (way to go, Jake! Back there doing dishes for your wifey) I love that you put so many videos on…it makes me feel like I’ve met him – keep ’em coming!

    Jackson sends a big smooch to his cousin Ben.

    p.s. By the way, the superman thing? Hilarious.

  2. Matt and Yvonne

    He’s growing up too fast! I hope we get to visit him before he starts walking.

  3. Jake and Joanna

    I just noticed in the picture on this post, you can really tell that Ben got his daddy’s eyebrow. Yes, eyebrow is intended to be singular.

    Jake

  4. Stephanie

    Thank you guys for all sharing your kiddos growing up before my eyes. You are blessed and I look forward to the day when we can all be together. Kim and I were talking today about having a cousins reunion. I definately think we should as my oldest will be leaving the nest in 2 years…hard to believe.

Leave a Reply

