So You’re Sayin’ There’s a Chance…

For rain that is.  60% as a matter of fact.  A little after noon Ben was starting to get fussy so I thought it was an opportune time to get him out of the house (he LOVES being outside) and I could really use the exercise.  As we ventured out the front door I noticed some very dark clouds in the distance but didn’t think too much of it only because that is the norm for Florida during the summer months.  The sky often looks dark, but the typical daily thunderstorm usually doesn’t arrive until around 2 pm.  However, I thought it would be best to error on the side of caution and decided to walk to the end of our street and take a Rodge (or Ralph…that’s for you Tonya) around the cul-de-sac and head home.  I also thought that if it did begin to rain it would only start with a light sprinkle giving me plenty of time to return home.  About mid cul-de-sac the skies opened up.  Not just a drop or two…pouring rain!!!  Another couple jogging not far from me took off in a full out sprint and all of the lawn care workers were diving into their trucks to take cover.  My first thought was to take shelter under someone’s porch, but then I thought I could be standing there for a really long time (this is the option I should have chosen…hindsight is always 20/20).  So I made sure Ben was covered as much as possible by the sun shield on his stroller and I took off.  Let me tell you, I have not run that fast in a really long time especially since Ben was born.  And of course by the time I arrived home, the rain was letting up!  I made it up to our front porch and pulled the sun shield back to make sure Ben was okay.  The little turkey had the biggest grin on his face!  I’m not sure if he just enjoyed his really fast stroller ride or if he was laughing at how goofy I must have looked.  Either way, it looks like our local meteorologist got it right today!!  

3 Comments

Filed under Ben, Orlando

3 responses to “So You’re Sayin’ There’s a Chance…

  1. That’s really funny…and I’ve often thought the same thing when out walking. If I were to get caught in the rain “NOW” where would I go?

    Ben is so precious looking at you!

  2. By the way – LOVED the title of this post.

  3. I bet he was thinking, “Woo hoo! Now THIS is a stroller ride!!” 😉

    Love the SWEET little grin he’s giving you. Like “You’re just the BEST, Mama.” Aww.

    (*Clearly I felt this comment needed LOTS ‘O CAPS. Hee.)

Leave a Reply

