Waiting

While I’m Waiting
Psalm 5:3, 27:14, 33:20, 37:7, 38:15, 40:1, Isaiah  30:18, Lamentations 3:24
by John Waller

I’m waiting
I’m waiting on You, Lord
And I am hopeful
I’m waiting on You, Lord
Though it is painful
But patiently, I will wait

I will move ahead, bold and confident
Taking every step in obedience

While I’m waiting
I will serve You
While I’m waiting
I will worship
While I’m waiting
I will not faint
I’ll be running the race
Even while I wait

I’m waiting
I’m waiting on You, Lord
And I am peaceful
I’m waiting on You, Lord
Though it’s not easy
But faithfully, I will wait
Yes, I will wait

I will serve You while I’m waiting
I will worship while I’m waiting
I will serve You while I’m waiting
I will worship while I’m waiting
I will serve You while I’m waiting
I will worship while I’m waiting on You, Lord

*******************************************************************************************************

I’ve been hesitant to write a post about what’s going on with our family right now.  Hesitant because I feel like if I write it down here that it might actually be real and not some really really bad dream that I keep hoping and praying I’ll wake up from.  So, while my fingers feel numb like the rest of my body, I’ll try to keep typing.

Jake was home eating lunch with Ben and me on Friday afternoon when my phone rang.  I saw that it was my sister, Jill, calling and for some reason I had that feeling deep in my stomach that something was wrong.  My sister and I talk on a frequent basis, but I know when Jill is going to call…at 6:30 pm…that’s typically when she is driving home from work.  When I answered she said that she was eating lunch in the VA cafeteria and was told by a co-worker that our mom was in the emergency room.  Jill called me as she was walking to the ER.

It turns out that my mom has been having abdominal pain for several weeks now and the pain just became too unbearable for her that morning.  She had a CT Scan and a MRI that afternoon.  We all thought that it might be something like her gallbladder but knew in the back of our minds that it could be related to the breast cancer she had about two years ago.  That evening our worst fears were confirmed.  A large mass was found in her pancreas and the doctors are fairly certain that all signs point toward pancreatic cancer, although, they believe at this time that it is unrelated to the breast cancer.  My mom should receive additional testing results on Tuesday (tomorrow) morning.  These results should tell us if she does in fact have cancer and if so, what stage it is in.  So I am asking for your prayers, specifically that the mass is not cancer and that the mass can be removed so that my mom will no longer be in pain.

So for now we wait.  As you can imagine we have been really struggling this weekend.  We are feeling shock, disbelief, sadness and many many more emotions…very much like a roller coaster.  Thank you so much to all of you that have called and sent e-mails.  We know you are praying for our family and we can feel your prayers at work.  I’ll write again when we have more information from the results tomorrow.

*****************************************************************************************************

Here are some verses that I’ve received from friends over the past few days that have been encouraging to me.

John 14:27″Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you.  I do not give to you as the world gives.  Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid.”

Psalm 145:18″The Lord is near to all who call on him.”

Matthew 6:8 “God knows what we need before we ask him.”

****************************************************************************************************** 

This is a prayer that was e-mailed to my mom from Kevin and Krissy, my sister-in-law’s brother and his wife.  When it is hard to know what or how to pray right now, this is what I pray.  I’ve listed it here so that you can use it as a prayer guide too.

Dear Most Gracious Heavenly Father,
 
Thank you for being our Great Physician and our Amazing Healer. You are God and there is none like You. Thank you so much for Judy. Thank you for the blessing she has been to us and our family. We lay her before Your throne. Thank you that you have redeemed her and called her by name; she is yours. When she passes through the waters, be with her. When she passes through the rivers, do not let them sweep over her. When she walks through the fire, do not let her be burned (Isaiah 43.1-2) You have promised that You will never leave her nor forsake her. Thank You for keeping your promises even during this time. Let Judy take refuge in You and be glad; let her ever sing for joy. Spread your protection over her that she may rejoice in You (Psalm 5.11) Lord, You are faithful. Please strengthen and protect her from the evil one. (2 Thess. 3.3) Give Judy victory and be her shield. Guard her course and protect her way. (Prov 2:7-8] Thank you that Jesus bore our sins in his body on the tree, and that by his wounds we are healed (1 Peter 2. 24) Let Judy dwell in the shelter of You, Most High and rest in the shadow of You, the Almighty. Be her refuge, her fortress, her covering, her shield. Do not let her fear the terror of the night, nor any type of plague or sickness. Command your angels to guard her in all her ways. When she calls on you, answer her. Be with her in trouble; deliver her and honor her. (Psalm 91) Let Judy lie down and sleep in peace during these days (Psalm 4:8] May she trust you with all her heart and not lean on her own understandings but in all her ways may she acknowledge you and you will direct her path (Prov 3.5-6) May she cast all her cares upon you because you care so much for her. You have not given her the spirit of fear but of power, love and of a sound mind (2 Timothy 1.7) May Judy lift up her eyes to the mountains. Her help comes from you, Lord, You who made heaven and earth. You will not allow her foot to slip; you who keep her will not slumber. You are her keeper; you are her shade on her right hand. The sun will not smite her by day nor the moon by night. You will protect her from all evil. You, O Lord, will guard her going out and her coming in from this time forth and forever (Psalm 121) May she cling to Your Word and be able to claim your Truth as her own and say that, “[She] would have despaired unless [she] had believed that [she] would see the goodness of You, Lord, in the land of the living. May Judy believe that she will see your goodness! May she wait for you, Lord; help her to be strong and to let her heart take courage. May she wait for you (Ps 27.13-14) You are her help; you are the one who sustains her (Psalm 54.4) You are loving and You are strong (Psalm 62.11-12) You are compassionate and gracious abounding in love and faithfulness (Psalm 86.15) Lord, Your name is Yahweh Rophe, the Lord who heals. You are in control. You are Sovereign. You are still on the throne. Please wrap your loving arms around Judy. Drown her in your love. Bring glory to your name through her and through this trial. In all these things we ask in the blessed name of Jesus, Amen.

1 Comment

Filed under Arkansas, Family, Health

One response to “Waiting

  1. I love you and I’m praying for you, the family and especially your mom. Please call tomorrow when you can.

Leave a Reply

