Poop and Turtles and Bears! Oh, My!

Well, after about a month long hiatus from the blog (albeit not planned or on purpose), I’m back to fill you in on all of the current ongoings of our lives.  As of today I can say that we are officially moved in to our new house!!  Let me define “moved in”…all of our belongings have now been transferred from the old house to the new house…many of our things are still in boxes or somewhat scattered about and unorganized.  I think a move “just down the street” somehow gives you a false idea that moving will somehow magically be different and easier than other types of long distance moving.  I’d like to strike the word “easier” from any further discussions about moving and just state for the record that while it might be less hard from a logistical standpoint to move down the street versus across the country it is still hard all the same.  Oh and something entirely new to the moving process for us…Ben!!  Throw a toddler in the mix of moving and it multiplies your workload all the more.   

Thankfully moving day was quite uneventful, but I would certainly call it organized chaos.  Looking  back I realized I didn’t snap a single picture from moving day.  Why you ask?  Probably because I ended up on babysitting duty (five kids…which was fine considering all of the help we had) but I don’t think I had a free moment or a free hand for that matter to snap any pictures.  I did manage to take a few of Ben climbing on boxes during the packing process.  I walked away for a moment and when I came back in the room there he was very excited and very proud of his fine accomplishment!!

IMG_7750

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

So you might be wondering what we’ve been doing for the past month.  While I’d like to tell you that I’ve been sitting on the couch with my feet kicked up eating bonbons…it goes a little more something like this.

Third day of life at the new house – It was hot and getting hotter INSIDE.  After sitting in our house for two days in 82+ degree weather the air conditioner was finally fixed.  It turned out the unit was low on freon so in the midst of working extra hard to cool the house, it froze itself.  So just as I was feeling the nice breeze of our newly fixed air conditioner I heard a bubbling sound.  The bubbling got louder and LOUDER and LOUDER.  As I ran from one bathroom to another each toilet continued to bubble.  Then it occurred…a back-flow of sewer water began to bubble up into all of the bathtubs and showers.  In a panic I called Jake who just so happened to be at a conference down by the theme parks (that’s about an hour away compared to his typical ten-minute commute to the office).  So while explaining the situation to him over the phone I was also hurriedly prepping to scoop the poop.  Gloves on, buckets ready, nose plugged (it did not smell good, people)…and then it stopped!  A few hours later after the plumber had performed a “simple” routine of “snaking out” the “clean-out” we were in for some bad news.  I was informed that he’d be back the next day to dig up a portion of the front flower bed in order to replace the broken clean-out.  Apparently when the initial landscaping for the house was completed the clean-out was broken and in turn the roots from the plants had grown down the pipe clogging it up.

Fourth day of life at the new house – One hole, one dead plant and one new clean-out later…we were back in business to do our business.  (ha ha)  And while we’re on the topic of poop…

Not long after the sewer system was back up and running, Ben and Dakota were playing together in the family room.  A little while later Ben walked up to me in the kitchen and handed me a piece of something.  It was round and brown and I thought it was most likely just something Dakota brought in from outside like a piece of bark or pine cone.  I had one thing right…it was something Dakota brought in from outside.  Sure enough it was a piece of dog poop…poop that I was now holding in my hand, that was smeared down the side of Ben’s leg and across the tile floor.  Lovely!

Last but not least I’ve been feeling a little like we’ve moved into the forest.  We have a HUGE turtle (the size of a dinner plate…no joke) that comes to visit every morning.  Dakota barks because I won’t let him out to “play” with it and then Ben chimes in and barks along with Dakota. 

IMG_7777

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Also, the day before we moved in our neighbors informed us that they saw a bear in our backyard.  Yep, not a typo…a BEAR!  Apparently it is a frequent visitor!!  And for all of you wondering…we had our first bear sighting last night!!!  Dakota started barking and completely freaking out by the back sliding glass doors.  From the way he was acting I knew what he saw…the bear.  It came darting across our backyard and a few seconds later he was gone!  Now that we’ve seen him, I think a call to animal control is in order.  A bear is cute when you see him at the zoo, but somehow they become a lot less cute and more frightening when they make house calls!!    

On that note, I guess there’s just one last thing to say, “Welcome home Jake, Joanna, Ben and Dakota…Welcome home!”

1 Comment

Filed under Ben, da Bear, Dakota, Friends, Orlando

One response to “Poop and Turtles and Bears! Oh, My!

  1. waltandannie

    Wow, Jo. Sounds like life at the new house is a crazy adventure. And, it’s only just begun!
    It’s cool to hear that you are all moved in (the unpacking and organization will come). Thanks for the fun post.
    Love you! Annie

Leave a Reply

