Party! Party! Party! Party! (Part 2)

After a good nights rest, a big family breakfast and lots of strong coffee (my brother-in-law makes it that way) we were feeling recharged from our busy Fourth of July festivities.  I’m also happy to report that everyone escaped without any fireworks related injuries!! 

We spent the next few days playing at Opi and Omi’s house in Greenwood.  Much to his delight, Ben discovered these wonderful trucks, trailers and tractors the moment we stepped foot out of the car!  He spent hours outside playing with them.  At one point he began placing them side by side in a row right before he began heaving them into a big pile.  I found the side by side thing interesting.  It was the first time I’d seen him do that with his toys.  I wonder if it is just a toddler thing OR did he give me a little glimpse into his personality?  Maybe we’ll just have to wait and see!!  There are certainly a few  other family members (I will not mention any names…you know who you are!!) that I remember doing this same thing and it seems to be a “unique” trait they have carried with them into adulthood.

  IMG_7992

  

 

 

 

 

IMG_7997

 

 

 

 

 

 

This is the same highchair I used when I was a wee babe.  I started digging through some of my old photos with the hopes of finding one of me in the chair to post next to Ben’s pic, but my searching efforts were to no avail.  So this is a request to my parents and/or other family members…if you have said picture could you please e-mail or snail mail it to me.  Thanks!!

IMG_8007

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Ben never passes up an opportunity to wrestle!!  Seriously, anytime he sees someone laying down he believes it is an open invitation to pounce on them!  So after a little wrastlin’ with Opi, Ben turned on the charm and smooched on Laci and snuggled with Omi!

 

IMG_8017IMG_8022IMG_8024

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_8025

Opi and Omi had a spraying fountain froggie pool for Ben and Laci to cool off in.  Clearly, Ben enjoyed playing with this ball in the pool.  Apparently, he thinks Laci’s head is a good place to bounce it.  Oh, just wait until Laci can hold her own one day…I have no doubt she’ll get him back!

IMG_8029

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_8033

While we were there we got to spend time with one of my best gal pals, Sonya, and her adorable girls, Laynee and Raegan.  (Of course I didn’t have a single shot where they were all looking at the camera!!)  We had lots of fun going out for pizza (okay, well that part was a little chaotic with four kiddos), chatting and even watching a movie!

IMG_8072

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_8040

One night after dinner, Dad and I were driving around checking out some pretty neighborhoods in the area when we drove by these amazing deer!  I don’t think I have ever seen so many together not to mention in someone’s front yard.  Apparently this is quite common in this particular neighborhood!!

IMG_8045

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One afternoon Dad took Ben for a ride on the lawn mower to keep him occupied while Candice and I made lunch.  It worked marvelously and in no time we were sitting down to lunch.  Afterwards we were busy getting the car packed up to head back to Fayetteville so once again Dad and Ben headed out to the lawn mower.  When I went to check on them this is what I saw…

Jake returned Friday evening and we spent the rest of our trip at Tim and Candice’s house.  From the moment he walked in the door (even before he saw the dogs), Ben was calling out, “Max, Max, Max.”  It was so cute how he remembered sweet Max! 

IMG_8066

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Here’s something we could have used around here about a month ago when Ben fell three (yes, THREE) times in two days leaving two large bruises and one small cut on his head.  The not so fun part about learning to walk and being a very curious boy!  The perfect fit don’t you think!?!

IMG_7982

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

In addition to making a “whew” sound while waving his hand across the sky, Ben now says “plane!”  He had a whole lot of fun watching planes pull up to the gate while playing with his beloved blue truck!  IMG_8098IMG_8100

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Thanks so much to our family for a “party” of a week!  Speaking of parties…Happy Birthday to my nephew Landon that turned 10 on July 15th and Happy Anniversary x 2 to my Dad and Linda and Mom and Bill that both celebrated anniversaries this month!  A party month indeed!

1 Comment

Filed under Anniversary, Arkansas, Ben, Birthdays, Family, Friends, Holiday, Travel

One response to “Party! Party! Party! Party! (Part 2)

  1. DANA LANE

    BOYS AND THEIR TRUCKS!! Hunter used to do the same exact thing about putting his trucks in a straight line, still does! Also has even made comments when we see “real equipment” on side of the road he checks to see how well they are in a line! I remember also when he was about Bens age if we saw equipment he would say, “look mom, its a backhoe, bobcat, or loader whatever the case would be. Gets that from Dustin, and the hunting thing! Well, take care and big hugs.
    love, Dana and Scoot!!!

Leave a Reply

