17 Months/18 Months…Our Little Parrot

IMG_8445

Here are a few of my favorite moments from Ben’s 17th month!!  Plus, he turned 18 months old today!!

After Ben’s nap, we head outside to play in the backyard until it’s time to start dinner.  Ben follows Dakota around the yard as they sniff out the grass, fence, bugs, bushes, plants…you name it!  And yes, you can usually find Ben either on his hands and knees or squatting next to Dakota as they investigate each of these!!  One afternoon Ben decided to take a break from his explorations to play peek-a-boo behind the trees.  Here are a couple of my favorite shots.

IMG_8444

 

 

 

 

 

 

 IMG_8449

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Earlier this month we made a special trip to the hospital where I used to work to visit our friends there.  Ben made sure to identify each and every clock he saw by pointing to each one and saying, “clock!”  I think he was in heaven…he absolutely loves clocks.  I guess you never realize just how many clocks are in a hospital until you take your 17 month old along.  He also enjoyed giving everyone he met a fist pound at least three or four times each.  Another highlight…he got to spin around and around in an office chair.  It was hysterical to watch him as he squealed in delight.  And as you can see in the pic below with my friend Judith…he so badly wanted to wear a visitor badge so I let him borrow mine…he wore it very proudly!  I’m pretty sure we were a major distraction.  So before long I thought it would be best to go.  After all, the government does frown upon the stealing of company time.  Ben was snoozing as we drove out of the parking lot.  All in a day’s work!

IMG_8239

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And while he napped that day, it rained, leaving the perfect puddle (perfect meaning…water, no mud) for Dakota and him to splash and stomp!!  

IMG_8242

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

A little after noon on my birthday, Ben and I had just settled into his rocking chair with a good book when we heard the doorbell ring.  We both excitedly sprinted to the front door to see who was there.  The mail lady had left a birthday package for me!!  After I carefully removed the contents of the package…Ben had a little party all his own!!  Who knew that a box and some newspaper could bring such joy and such a good nap!!  He slept for a good three hours after this!!  

After Jake and Ben treated me to some delicious pizza on my birthday we made a quick stop by the grocery store for some cupcakes and a few other necessities.  We let Ben ride around…I mean fly around…in this fun space shuttle shopping cart!

IMG_8335

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Grab your coffee (or beverage of choice), pull up a chair and get ready for story time with Ben!  This is from his library book, “Melvin Might?”  We’ve read it close to a million times so he’s memorized some of the words!!  One of his favorite phrases he’s gleaned from this book is, “I try.”

And now…the rest of the story.  I know you can’t wait to find out what happens to Rita.  Sorry for the cliffhanger (ha ha)!  (My camera only lets me film for…apparently three minutes…before it cuts me off).

And for an encore presentation…here’s Ben reading his library book, “Tip Tip Dig Dig.”  One morning I overheard him from the kitchen saying, “Tip Dig Dig.”  I grabbed the camera and here’s what happened next. 

From the mouth of Ben:  We recently started calling Ben our little parrot.  He likes to pick words from our conversations and repeat them over and over.  One night at dinner Jake had just finished telling me an “interesting” story from his day at work…he has lots of those now that he is a supervisor.  I replied in surprise by saying, “WHAT??”  Throughout the remainder of dinner we heard Ben saying, “WHAT??”

Here are some other new and funny things he’s saying: 

“Hat.”  We were at the post office recently and Ben would point and call out “hat” to each person that walked in with a hat on.  I was kind of feeling rude for all of the pointing we were doing and singling out of those with hats on, but fortunately for us they were all very nice.  We counted two white hats, a red hat and a straw hat…yes, a straw hat…similar to Huckleberry Fin!

“Picture.”  We finally got around to hanging some pictures in Ben’s bathroom recently.  The other morning we were in his bathroom and he looked up, pointed to the frames on the wall and said, “picture.”  I didn’t even know he knew that word!

“I miss.”  “I shoot.”  “Brick.”  “Goal.”  When he’s shooting hoops on his mini basketball goal we hear him say all those words/phrases.  (Hmm, I wonder who taught him how to say “brick”!!)

“Hut.”  Right before he throws the football he says, “hut!”  Oh, and if you happen to join him for a game of catch, beware, he likes to throw the ball at your face…at point blank range!  Ouch!

“Dirt.”  If we’re outside and he finds some dirt, he likes to bring me some and say, “dirt.”  Or if we’re inside playing on the tile and he finds grass or Dakota’s hair he’ll pick it up and bring it to me and say, “dirt.”  Ahh, it is good motivation to keep the floors clean…Ben will certainly let you know if they are not!

“Mama…book.”  This boy LOVES to read his books.  In the mornings I can hear him on the monitor calling out, “mama…book, mama…book”.

“Geen.”  When you ask him what color something is he usually responds “geen” no matter what the color.  Maybe green is Ben’s favorite color…it’s Jake’s too!

“Duck goose.”  Anytime he sees a duck he always says, “duck goose!”

“Mac cheese” for macaroni and cheese.

“Benny bop bop.”  Not long after Ben was born we’d do this little leg thing with him and say, “Benny Benny bop bop.”  Now he likes to say, “Benny bop bop.”

“Bath time.”  When it’s time to take a bath he says, “bath time!”  And from the moment we tell him it’s time to get out he begins telling everything “bye” and waves as the water drains from the tub.

“O.”  He says “o” for “hello” when pretending to answer the phone.  He likes to pretend that any one of his small toys is a phone and he’ll hold it up to his ear like he’s talking.

“A mess.”  He loves to repeat the phrase “a mess” from one of his library books, “What a Mess.”  One night after dinner he had potato soup all over him and puddled in the seat of his high chair.  He looked up at Jake and me and said, “a mess!”

“Hands.”  When he says, “hands” that means he wants to go and wash them with the lime green soap in his bathroom.  Limit:  three squirts and we’re done! 

“Dub dub” is for the letter W.

“I love you.”  Of ALL the things he’s saying right now, these THREE words are my most favorite!!

4 Comments

Filed under Ben, Orlando

4 responses to “17 Months/18 Months…Our Little Parrot

  1. Julie Ford

    THANKS JO!

    THIS WAS SO MUCH FUN! HE DEFINATELY PUTS A SMILE ON MY FACE! 🙂 HE LOOKS SO GROWN UP IN HIS NEW PICTURE .

    THE BOX AND NEWSPAPER SCENE WAS A BIT INTENSE AT TIMES! 🙂 WAS THE NEWSPAPER NOT SUPPOSE TO LEAVE THE BOX? WAS HE NOT SATISFIED WITH THE OVERALL APPEARANCE OF THE NEWSPAPER BACK IN THE BOX? IT WAS DEFINATELY A CLIFFHANGER. 🙂 AT LEAST HE WAS ABLE TO REST AFTER HE FINISHED HIS MASTERPIECE.

    PLEASE TELL BEN “I LOVE YOU.” FROM ME.

  2. Oh my goodness, I can’t handle the cuteness. Seriously.

    Ok, first the box and the newspaper. I love how he attacks it with such glee! Jackson does the same thing. Loves to play with boxes. When I empty something out in the kitchen, I usually chuck it over into the living room and let him play with it for a few hours. Hey, free toys!

    The books are adorable. I need to look up a few of those. I love the Dig, Dig, Dig one. Jax would LOVE that!

    And Jackson’s also been big into saying things are “messy” lately. Especially Lucy. He’ll say, “Ee-Ci Messy” a lot and just crack up at himself.

    I love this stage, don’t you? They’re so darn curious and they just go go go until they hit a wall and sleep. My goals lately have been to wear him out really good in the morning so he’ll take good naps for me in the afternoon. =) A bit selfish, right? I’m ok with it.

    Love you guys!

  3. Jill Weikel

    Hey Jo,

    Your little man is getting bigger. He is so sweet and so darn cute. Just a little side note, when he does start dating send the girls references to me. Aunt Jill will need to check these girls out…. LOL. I’m still trying to figure out a good time for Khloee and I to come visit.

    Love youuuuuuuuu! (as Ben would say).

  4. Richard Ford

    Joanna,
    Please tell Ben that I behave the same way when I cannot find the sports pages!

Leave a Reply

