Carving Pumpkins and Raking Leaves…All in a Fall Day’s Work

We rounded out our visit to Arkansas in October with a fantastic fall day outside at Grandpa and Grandma’s house in Fayetteville.

While Ben napped that afternoon, the rest of us got started on carving our pumpkins.  Mom was even feeling good enough to sit outside with us.  We didn’t know it then, but this day turned out to be the last time we took pictures with her.  It was a special day and I’m so thankful we got to share it with her.  It will be one I’ll never forget.

After Ben woke up from his nap he was ready to play outside with the rest of us.  Grandpa Bill bought him a little rake just his size and he was beyond thrilled to get busy raking leaves!

And what good is raking leaves if you can’t play in them…and play they did!!  Here’s Ben with his cousins, Khloee and Kayla.

Snuggling with Grandma one last time.  Sweet memories.

2 Comments

Filed under Arkansas, Ben, Family, Health, Holiday, Mom

2 responses to “Carving Pumpkins and Raking Leaves…All in a Fall Day’s Work

  1. Jill Weikel

    Those are great Jo. Every time I see pictures of Mom I tell you I really have to hold back tears. Usually when I get in the car driving home from work I will have my crying moment then I’m good.

  2. Joanna,
    These are such sweet pictures. Your mom was so beautiful even when she was sick. That last one of her and Ben is wonderful!

    (Jackson is sitting here with me looking at blogs. He keeps saying, “Benny, Benny” while we look at your pictures!)

Leave a Reply

