35 Weeks

 

I have some exciting news to share…we’ve decided on a name!  Drum roll please…Jude Hudson!!  We’re so excited about this name!!  Jude is a name I have liked for a very long time (we even considered it when we named Ben).  With the passing of my mom on November 20, 2009 (her name was Judy), we thought it would be perfect to use the name Jude for our little guy.  Jude means “praise.”    

Picking a middle name was definitely more of a challenge.  I can’t even count the number of names we discussed.  Most of our conversations went a little something like this… 

Me:  “What do you think of THIS name?” 

Jake:  “Oh, no.  Not THAT name.” 

(And vice versa).

So one day Jake came home from work and said, “I heard the name Hudson today and really like it, what do you think?”  It was the first time we both REALLY liked the same name!  Hallelujah!  And there you have it…the story of how baby #2 was named!  Hudson means “Hugh’s son.”  But, obviously in our case he’ll be Jake’s son!  ha ha

We are certainly counting down the days until baby Jude arrives and we’ve been busy getting everything ready to welcome him home!!  I’ve had so much fun going back through Ben’s old clothes.  I’m sure he’s tired of hearing, “Look Ben, can you believe you used to be this small!”  Then he responds, “Ben wear that today!”  It’s been fun explaining to him that he’ll be the big brother now and that Jude gets to wear all of his old clothes!  We also moved Ben to his big boy bed in his big boy room.  Now we’re in the process of decorating it!  I’ll post pictures as soon as it’s done.

I’m feeling lots and lots of kicks these days with continued Braxton Hicks contractions.  This boy kicks hard…hard enough to stop me in my tracks on many occasions until he stops kicking and I can catch my breath!  I’ve had some slight swelling in my feet and ankles recently, but other than that I’m feeling pretty good (minus the frequent, every one and a half hours frequent, trips to the bathroom at night)!  It’s no wonder I’ve felt a significant decrease in energy lately…with interrupted sleep like that it is hard to feel well rested in the morning!  My next appointment is on Thursday of this week so I’ll post again soon with any new info!

4 Comments

Filed under Jude, Orlando

4 responses to “35 Weeks

  1. I LOVE the name Jo! I can’t wait to talk to you and catch up. My spring break is next week so hopefully I can catch you then. Until then we are praying for a smooth welcome to this world for Jude. Love ya little buddy!

  2. waltandannie

    Yeah! Jude Hudson is a great name – nice choice! Can’t wait to see pictures of the little guy. Keep us posted!

  3. Yay! I love the name. Just love it. And now I will be singing “Hey Jude” the rest of the day.
    I chuckled at the meaning of Hudson. Jackson means “Jack’s son”. Deep. Real deep. Oh well. We loved it and went with it.
    Um, can I just say that you look fantastic?! You really do! You make a beautiful pregnant lady. I can’t believe you’re so far along! I’ll pray specifically that you can feel more rested after your busy nights up being up and down.
    Love you all!

  4. Matt and Yvonne

    We love the name!

    With Jacob having sons named Benjamin and Jude (Judah), this is starting to look like the second half of the book of Genesis. Do you two plan on having ten more sons and naming them Joseph, Dan, Simeon, Levi, Reuben, Asher, Gad, Issachar, Zebulun, and Naphtali? (Just kidding of course!)

Leave a Reply

