“Keep It On Easy”

On Thursday morning we woke up to Ben, at Jake’s side of the bed, asking for milk and water.  It was the first time he’d come to our room (without us going to get him) since we moved him to his big boy bed almost a month ago.  We were a little surprised to see him standing there.  This also alerted me to something else.  “Oh, no,” I said.  “He must be sick.”  I know a request for milk and water sounds pretty normal, but it isn’t normal for Ben.  When he asks for these two things in combination in the morning it means one thing…he’s going to puke.  Jake put him in the bed with us and our typically high energy…hopping, skipping, running around the house…boy was lethargic.  We came in the kitchen, I grabbed the puke bucket just in time.  Poor kiddo.  I hate it when he’s sick.  It was the second time in a month he’d done this.  Without fail, the second puking episode came about 20 minutes later.  And as usual, he was done.  

Our plans for a trip to the library, grocery store and a few other errands were quickly replaced with a trip to the couch with pillows, a blanket and the movie Toy Story.  (I just didn’t think I could handle another viewing of Cars at the time).  Ben had never watched it before and it turned out he really liked Buzz and Woody!! 

Around noon we sat down at the table for lunch.  I started him out on crackers, jello and Gatorade.  I asked him if he wanted to try some chicken noodle soup (for whatever reason he’s not a fan and usually won’t touch it).  He replied, “No, Mommy, I’m okay.  Keep it on easy.” 

I think I almost fell out of my chair laughing.  “Keep it on easy.”  “Where did you hear that?” I asked.  “From Daddy,” he replied.  Of course I had to call Jake right away to find out.  Apparently there’s a race car game on Jake’s iPhone they play together.  Ben likes to hit the button to switch it to a harder level and Jake tells him to “keep it on easy.”  They’d played the game in the waiting room at my doctor’s appointment on Tuesday.  So funny how he remembered the phrase and decided to use it at the lunch table that day!

3 Comments

Filed under Ben, Orlando

3 responses to ““Keep It On Easy”

  1. Your child is hilarious! What a smart little guy – applying that phrase to something else. I love trying to figure out how their minds work.
    So sorry to hear that he’s been sick. Hopefully he’s much better now.
    How’s baby Jude? Feeling like you’re going to pop yet? =) I kid, I kid.
    Hope you’re feeling well!

  2. Jill Weikel

    That is too funny…I bet you guys get a lot of laughs with Ben. Can’t wait to see you in a week.

  3. Tim

    That is one of the funniest things I’ve ever heard!! I can’t wait to hang with he and Laci for a few days. I can’t wait to see the trouble those two will get themselves into.

Leave a Reply

