A Fashion Statement of Sorts

Ah-h-h-h-h-h!  Naptime…at least for the boys anyway.  Yes, they’re napping at the same time!  It doesn’t happen every day but when it does, it’s a beautiful thing!!  We’ve had a fun, busy morning. 

First, we went to the post office to mail some packages.  Ben saw a police officer there and was enamored by him.  The police officer even gave him a badge to wear that he is still sporting quite proudly on his shirt.  Ben kept asking me, “Mommy, is he going to drive away in his police car?” 

Next, we went over to a friend’s house for our weekly neighborhood playgroup.  Yes, the kids play, but what they mostly want to do is sample each other’s snacks.  After about an hour Jude started to get a little sleepy so we packed up our things and came home.  I put Jude in his crib and not long after Ben and I sat down to eat our lunch.

Lunch began with a story from Ben about a “roast beef bird” he saw today (he was eating a roast beef sandwich for lunch).  Ben pointed out the window as it apparently flew close to our breakfast table.  He went on and on and on describing this unique bird, and unique it is!  Then our conversation turned to this…

Ben:  I like frogs and lizards, Mommy.

Me:  You do?  That’s cool.  You must be very brave!

Ben:  I like to kill them.

Me:  Oh.  Wouldn’t you rather play with them?

Ben:  No.  I want to kill them and wear them.

Me:  I think you should play nice with your friends, Frog and Lizard…  And just remember, we don’t bring them in the house.  Okay?

Alrighty then.  Ben wants to wear frog and lizard carcasses.  Lovely. 

I wonder if the Discovery Channel would be interested in a new show…Ben vs. Wild!

***********Updated***********

I’ve been searching for this picture and finally found it.  It’s from a day back in June.  Ben and Dakota spent at least an hour on the back porch trying to capture this poor frog.  Dakota was barking and Ben was screaming with excitement the ENTIRE time! 

3 Comments

Filed under Ben, Orlando

3 responses to “A Fashion Statement of Sorts

  1. Matt and Yvonne

    I spit out my coffee all over my desk when I read that Ben said “I like to kill them.” For some reason I laughed way too hard at that.

  2. Jake and Joanna

    Sorry about that, Matt! I should have warned readers to put down all beverages before reading this post!!

  3. Julie Ford

    Oh my goodness! Coffee is all over the place here now as well. Sip, start to swallow, choke, spew from nose and spill. Who knew you could actually burn the inside of your nose?

    Now, more details on the “roast beef bird” please.

Leave a Reply

