Party Hats

This afternoon when I asked Ben what we needed to make his Uncle Matt’s birthday video really special he said, “Party hats!”  So the plan was for me to cut out party hats from construction paper and Ben and Jude were going to decorate them with crayons and stickers.  It took me about five minutes to cut out the hats and tape them together to meet the approximate circumference of their heads.  Blue for Ben.  Red for Jude.  And in normal three-year old fashion, by the time those five minutes were up Ben had changed his mind…no decorating needed…he was ready to shoot the video!!

A few things about the video:

  1. It is not Jude’s birthday…just Uncle Matt’s special day!
  2. Ben always seems to skip the second verse of the Happy Birthday Song.
  3. Ben loves to speak in gibberish.
  4. Ben, Jude and I spent the morning at the pool.  I tried to teach Jude how to say, “Happy Birthday, Uncle Matt!”  He was actually saying “Happy!”  Guess he got a little camera-shy!

Happy Birthday, Matt!  Hope you enjoyed the video!!  Ben was excited to make it for you!  And, Jude, well, he’s just excited to do whatever Ben is doing!!  We cannot wait to visit you all in October!!  We’ve been talking to Ben a lot about Fleet Week and he is especially excited!!

I love that it’s becoming a tradition to make a video for Matt on his birthday.  Thought it might be fun to take a look back at the videos from the previous years.  Oh, and in case you’re wondering…YES!!  I do intend to blog more frequently again.  And soon!

August 2, 2010 (Ben at 2, Jude 3 months):

August 2, 2009 (Ben at 1):

5 Comments

Filed under Ben, Birthdays, Family, Jude, Orlando

5 responses to “Party Hats

  1. Yay! I’ve missed you!
    Ok. I loved the top video. My favorite part was after Ben sang, how he came up (face in the camera) and you and he were battling it out b/c he wanted to see himself. I was cracking UP! I love the camera movement to follow him. And sweet little Jude at the end, cocking his head to the side with that smile. Oh Jude! You are going to get the ladies with that grin! Love seeing these two in the videos. We want more!! I cannot wait until New Year’s. The fun we will have is going to be off the charts!

  2. Matt and Yvonne

    Great! Thanks for the video! Can’t wait until we get to see those little guys again!

  3. Amanda & Joe

    Oh, my! That is the cutest thing we have seen in a long time. Thanks for sharing, Joanna.

  4. Rosemary Patmore

    Enjoyed seeing those sweet faces!

  5. Matt and Yvonne

    Even though Jude didn’t say the word “happy”, it was so cute the way he demonstrated how he could BE happy when he heard the word “happy”!

    But… there was one birthday video you missed! I can still remember when Yvonne and I watched the first birthday video you made for us on YouTube. Three years ago, Yvonne and I were on the 59th floor of the Shanghai JW Marriott Tomorrow Square (gotta love the corporate expense account) while I was living overseas, when Ben was just a baby! I was living in Thailand at the time, but according to Thai law I had to travel to another country to renew my work visa once every three months, and my birthday just happened to fall during one of those visa-renewal times. Here was the blog post:

    https://jakeandjoanna.wordpress.com/2008/08/02/happy-birthday-matt/

    At the time, though, we didn’t have access to your blog until we got back to Thailand, because (unfortunately) the Chinese government was blocking access to blogs at that time. However, we were able to see the video when we checked your YouTube channel! And we found it here:

    I look forward to this birthday tradition continuing!

Leave a Reply

